New Ministerial List

Ministerial List for Announcement (for appointment on 20 December 2016)

Cabinet Ministers

  1. Bill English (was 1)
    Prime Minister
    Minister for National Security and Intelligence
    Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services
  2. Paula Bennett (2)
    Deputy Prime Minister
    Minister of State Services
    Minister for Women
    Minister of Tourism
    Minister of Police
    Minister for Climate Change Issues
  3. Steven Joyce (3)
    Minister of Finance
    Minister for Infrastructure
  4. Gerry Brownlee (4)
    Minister supporting Greater Christchurch Regeneration
    Minister of Defence
    Minister of Civil Defence
    Leader of the House
    Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission
  5. Simon Bridges (8)
    Minister for Economic Development
    Minister of Transport
    Minister for Communications
    Deputy Leader of the House
    Associate Minister of Finance
  6. Amy Adams (6)
    Minister of Justice
    Minister for Courts
    Minister for Social Housing
    Minister Responsible for Social Investment
    Minister Responsible for HNZC
    Associate Minister of Finance
  7. Jonathan Coleman (5)
    Minister of Health
    Minister for Sport and Recreation
  8. Christopher Finlayson (7)
    Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations
    Minister in Charge of the NZ Security Intelligence Service
    Minister Responsible for the GCSB
    Associate Minister for Māori Development
  9. Michael Woodhouse (16)
    Minister of Immigration
    Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety
    Minister for ACC
  10. Anne Tolley (10)
    Minister for Children
    Minister for Social Development
    Minister of Local Government
  11. Hekia Parata (9)
    Minister of Education
  12. Nathan Guy (14)
    Minister for Primary Industries
    Minister for Racing
    Associate Minister for Economic Development
  13. Murray McCully (12)
    Minister of Foreign Affairs
  14. Nikki Kaye (15)
    Minister for Youth
    Associate Minister of Education
  15. Nick Smith (11)
    Minister for the Environment
    Minister for Building and Construction
  16. Judith Collins (13)
    Minister of Revenue
    Minister of Energy and Resources
    Minister for Ethnic Communities
  17. Todd McClay (17)
    Minister of Trade
    Minister for State Owned Enterprises
  18. Maggie Barry (19)
    Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
    Minister of Conservation
    Minister for Seniors
  19. Paul Goldsmith
    Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment
    Minister of Science and Innovation
    Minister for Regulatory Reform
  20. Louise Upston
    Minister of Corrections
    Associate Minister of Education
    Associate Minister for Primary Industries
    Associate Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment
  21. Alfred Ngaro
    Minister for Pacific Peoples
    Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector
    Associate Minister for Children
    Associate Minister for Social Housing

    Ministers Outside Cabinet

  22. Nicky Wagner
    Minister of Customs
    Minister for Disability Issues
    Associate Minister supporting Greater Christchurch Regeneration
    Associate Minister of Conservation
    Associate Minister of Health
    Associate Minister of Tourism
  23. Mark Mitchell
    Minister for Land Information
    Minister of Statistics
    Associate Minister of Justice
  24. Jacqui Dean
    Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
    Minister for Small Business
    Associate Minister for ACC
    Associate Minister of Local Government
  25. David Bennett
    Minister of Veterans’ Affairs
    Minister for Food Safety
    Associate Minister of Immigration
    Associate Minister of Transport

Support Party Ministers

Peter Dunne
Minister of Internal Affairs
Associate Minister of Conservation
Associate Minister of Health

Te Ururoa Flavell
Minister for Māori Development
Minister for Whānau Ora
Associate Minister for Economic Development

Parliamentary Under-Secretary

David Seymour
Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Education, Minister for Regulatory Reform

Leave a comment


  1. PDB

     /  18th December 2016

    No doubt more Whaleoil wailing as Judith drops three spots……

  2. lurcher1948

     /  18th December 2016

    [Not relevant and dodgy implications. PG]

    • lurcher1948

       /  18th December 2016

      [Deleted – irrelevant, I don’t see any link with that and Bill English, it’s like blaming all Muslims for a few terrorists. PG] but then its your blog SORRY I’m so insensitive sorry pete

  3. Blazer

     /  18th December 2016

    Murray hangs in till the ..death.

    • Easing out and helping someone ease in makes sense to me. There must be a lot of relationship building required in Foreign Affairs.

    • Corky

       /  18th December 2016

      Paula will be battle hardened for the next election. She’ll roll Bill eventually. In the mean time my guess is she’ll pick on Jacinda and show her up for the air-head she is.

      • Blazer

         /  18th December 2016

        Bubbles is no hope of being P.M….dodges radio interviews but happy for a brief T.V spot.Most over rated M.P in Cabinet and in the mould of an inflated Ruth Richardson.

  4. lucher1948

     /  18th December 2016

    Sorry Pete after 68 years its 68 years of the same old shit BLAH BLAH BLAH we will this and that BUT we don’t care about the voter,its the trough the pigs troughs left center and right oink oink wheres the trough nothing changes
    but Neil Young makes me happy

  5. i guess the pre announced reshuffle in May means the Mt Albert by election is on then !

    • I doubt that Key and English had any intention of an early election but makes one very unlikely. A bit of change now, and a revamp in May leading into the campaign and a later election.

      I doubt Labour seriously thought there would be an early election instead of a by-election despite posturing by Little, they are advertising for campaign field officers fixed term to the end of October.

  6. Gezza

     /  18th December 2016

    Oh well. All done and dusted. No dramas. Not yet anyway. Tidy start for the New Year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: