Advance voting in Mt Albert by-election

Advance voting has opened in the Mt Albert by-election, leading into election day on February 25.

Has there been much media interest? If so they are likely to be giving disproportionate coverage to two or three candidates. There are 13 in all.


Party Name Notes
Independent Adam Amos Former candidate for the Waitemata Local Board.
Labour Jacinda Ardern Two-time Auckland Central candidate and high-profile List MP Jacinda Ardern was the only nomination for Labour.[5][2] Her campaign launch as Labour’s candidate was held on 22 January.[6][7]
Independent Dale Arthur Local resident and great-nephew of former Labour cabinet minister Norman King.[8]
Independent Penny Bright An activist and a perennial candidate, Bright finished sixth in the 2016 Auckland mayoral election with 7,022 votes.[9]
Communist League Patrick Brown Activist, and former candidate for various positions in local and national elections. Won 1,826 votes in the 2016 Auckland mayoral election.[10]
Socialist Aotearoa Joe Carolan Former Mana Movement candidate Joe Carolan is standing as the candidate for Socialist Aotearoa,[11] a minor far-left party of which he is the leader.
Green Julie Anne Genter Second-term Green list MP Julie Anne Genter is the candidate for the Green Party.[12]
Legalise Cannabis Abe Gray Former candidate for the Dunedin mayoralty and director of New Zealand’s only cannabis museum.[13]
TOP Geoff Simmons Morgan Foundation economist Geoff Simmons is the newly-formed Opportunities Party’s candidate.[14]
Not A Party Simon Smythe A candidate encouraging the boycott of the by-election and upcoming general election.[15]
People’s Party Vin Tomar Early childhood teacher and real estate agent for the newly formed People’s Party.[16]
HRP Anthony Van Den Heuvel Perennial candidate who has contested the Mount Albert seat four times before between 1993 and 2014.
Independent Peter Wakeman Former ACT, National, Democrat, Social credit, Green Party, Internet Party and Labour Party member.[17] Stood in the Te Tai Hauauru by-election, 2004 as an independent candidate.

Nominations for the by-election closed on 1 February 2017 with thirteen candidates nominated. The New Zealand National Party announced it would not stand a candidate in the by-election


Leave a comment


  1. wow i never heard of Peter Wakeman before, how can he have been in that many parties !

  2. duperez

     /  14th February 2017

    More candidates than voters? 🙃

  3. Zedd

     /  15th February 2017

    Good field, a bit of choice ! go; Abe & J-A-Genter 😀

  1. Advance voting in Mt Albert by-election – NZ Conservative Coalition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s